Annual Congregational Meeting of June 2, 2024

Eastrose Fellowship Unitarian Universalist 1133 NE 181st Avenue, Portland, Oregon 97230. MINUTES

The Annual Congregational Meeting was called to order on June 2, 2024, by President Cynthia Hopkins at 12:14 PM.

A quorum was declared by Secretary Lynne Pfeiffer with 30 Members attending in person and virtually.

The Chalice was lit by Katie Norris Paries

The Welcome and Opening Words were spoken by Cynthia Hopkins.

Rev. Robin Zucker briefly outlined the past year's happenings and endeavors and will post a more complete report online.

Approval of last year's Minutes:

Motion by Sue Aschim Steward, Second by Eric Tschuy, no Discussion, unanimous Vote. The Minutes of the June 11, 2023, Annual Congregational Meeting, were approved.

<u>The Status of Eastrose</u> was reported by President Cynthia Hopkins, who reviewed the past year.

- This was the Eastrose year of emerging from Covid's impacts and a year of lay led leadership.
- Rev. Robin Zucker, our new minister since August 2023, speaks three times per month.
- Attendance has increased about 20% from last year. There are currently eleven new members.
- Tyler Perez is our new Sunrise Choir director. Char Woods is our new Speech Choir coordinator.
- Eastrose was left a substantial bequest from our late member, Karen Goldman.
- Setbacks included a burst sewer pipe with damage to carpets, bathrooms and part of the nursery. The church was closed for a few weeks, but opened again under difficult circumstances. New carpets, paint and repairs now provide an updated atmosphere.
- Costs of repairing and replacing were largely covered by our insurance with some possible future reimbursement by the City of Gresham.
- Events such as the Plant Swap and Winterfest have now been resumed successfully.
- Losses of beloved members by death included Tom and Katie TenEyck, Karen Goldman, and David Maynard, our Minister Emeritus, all of whom contributed greatly to the life of Eastrose and are sorely missed.

The Budget for 2024 / 2025:

The proposed Budget for 2024/2025 was presented to the membership by postal letter ten days before this meeting along with the required Notice of Meeting.

The Budget was extensively discussed at yesterday's online Budget Discussion Meeting.

Discussion covered the deficiency of pledge and other income to cover next year's operating expenses. Two withdrawals have been made from the Endowment Fund to cover the problem. It is expected that the Eastrose financial situation will be improving soon.

Approval of the 2024/2025 Budget:

Motion by Therese Langevin, Second by Eric Tschuy, no Discussion, unanimous Vote.

The Eastrose Budget for the Fiscal Year 2024-2025, was approved.

Approval of candidates for the Incoming Board of Trustees:

The candidates for 2024/2025 Members of the Eastrose Board of Trustees are:

President: Katie Norris Paries,

Vice President: Bonna Harwood (continuing)

Secretary: Ruth White

Treasurer: Therese Langevin
Member at Large: Sue Aschim Steward

Member at Large: Karen Pyle
Member at Large: Charity Virtue

Motion by Selenna Baxter, Second by Patricia Walsh, no Discussion, unanimous Vote, The slate of incoming Members of the Eastrose Board of Trustees for the Fiscal Year 2024 / 2025 was approved.

A ceremony was held to install and appreciate the new Board members.

Appreciations:

The Tony Crumpton Award and gifts of Peace Roses:

- Ryan Hall was commended for his extraordinary service in making Eastrose whole by advising, overseeing, and performing necessary work and projects caused by the water damage.
- Kathie Loveall was honored for her ongoing volunteer work in Religious Exploration this year.

Heartfelt gratitude was expressed for the extensive volunteer work of Keene Clay, Karen Pyle, Sue Aschim Steward and Shari Sirkin.

The Chalice was extinguished and Closing Words spoken by Cynthia Hopkins.

Adjournment:

Motion to adjourn was by Cathy Loveall, Second by Suzy Matranga Watson, unanimous Vote.

The Congregational Meeting of June 2, 2024 was adjourned at 1:47 PM.

Respectfully submitted, Lynne Pfeiffer, Secretary

Eastrose Fellowship Unitarian Universalist

MEMBERS present in person or virtually at the Annual Congregational Meeting of June 2, 2024

Quorum is 20% of the membership. Membership is 50 to date. Staff-Members do not vote.

	1		
1	Hanaplan Curtis.	26	Luna Corrad
2	Dris L. Kessen	27	The state of the s
3	Tynne Pheelha	28	Bon blowned
4	Lais Williams	29	The Pents
5	Carol Rnox	30	Caralyn Cannon
6	Bue Steward	31	NI A A
7	1,	32	Mattuce Walsh.
8	Therese Langevin	32	phyllis Adenes (or (a)
9	Valuerne N Paries	33	
10	CO.	35	
11		May be be partie	
12	The state of the s	37	
13		38	
14		39	
1:	- 1	40	
1		41	
1	1 1 1	42	
1000	8 Meamhain Vittee	43	
1000	9 1 1 1	44	MORNING COLORS
The section	O Jouys adam	45	
1000	1 aprilities	46	
	2 golf Weg mt	47	
_	23 Selenna Baxter	48	Lie II a constant and
Section 2	14 Care W. Is Muy	49	
250	5 Brehmi Cats	50	
-			